Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says (Costa Rica)

Ever since I started working on the Soleado series (textbooks to teach Spanish) I’ve been collecting signs in Spanish. Here are some of the more interesting ones I found in Costa Rica:

cerveza bien fría, por favor We had the coldest beer in Costa Rica in the Bar Casona, after a hot hike through Santa Rosa National Park without enough water. This fridge says ‘ask for it (your Imperial beer) below 0’, and it certainly was a great end to a perfect but thirsty day — we saw a wild jaguar!!!!

paradise is gated community

In Costa Rica, paradise is gated community.

sign: No Se VendeThere is heavy duty development going on in Costa Rica. This sign protests: ‘Private property, I’m not selling, I’m not giving out mortgages, I’m not renting it out.’

hay cocodrilos en el estero ‘Beware, there are crocodiles in the estuary.’ Carrillo Beach, Costa Rica.

Ostional Beach: Beware, dangerous currents

Ostional Beach: Beware, dangerous currents.

Playa San Juanillo CevicheThis one has the English translation built into the sign but I’ve included it because their ceviche was sooo goood! Playa San Juanillo, Costa Rica.

'Help Save the Turtles' sign in Costa Rica

Help Save the Turtles!

Hippies VIP Area near Volcán Arenal

Hippies VIP Area near Volcán Arenal

My Spanish textbooks site: http://www.soleducational.com
The weekly photo challenge is at: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/31/weekly-photo-challenge-the-sign-says/